SatComm - Narrative hard sci-fi map tagging game

Overview

SatComm (working title) is a narrative hard sci-fi map-reading-and-tagging game where the player looks over real-time, time-delayed, and archival lunar satellite imagery and commands a small robotic rover to survey the land for anything worth studying closer, and uncovering activites the agency may not be aware of.

Goals

I wanted to focus on creating a game that played with persistence (the game continues to progress while you’re not playing) in order to demand less of your time. Actions take real-world time to complete, and each play session will often be no more than 10 minutes of reading messages and setting up the next slate of actions.

Update Frequency

I work full-time as a games programmer and work on this project mostly on the spare time I have on weekends while being as careful as I can not to let myself get burned out. So updates are probably not going to be frequent! But I will update this dev log as I make noteable progress!

I’ll post updates in the replies, and edit this first post with updated info and nav links to keep things organized!

4 Likes

Update #1

Right now, the systems I have working include:

• Google Maps-style Camera: This is a slightly modified version of the EditorCamera from the Cameras module.

• Persistent Scheduled Events: Setting up scheduled events that save/load for objects in the world to slowly to other locations in the world and for the player to receive email messages. This way the player can setup several things to happen, close the game, go grab a coffee or whatever people do these days, come back and see the results.

• Objects Have Stats: If the player’s rover scans certain objects in the world, they can see that data on an info window. This is really just going to be for narrative info, like who made it, what’s its COSPAR ID is, how all its subsystems are working, etc etc.